Place EntryDemocratic Republic of the Congo/Africa
Place NameDemocratic Republic of the Congo
NotesAlso known as: DRC, Congo-Kinshasa, Republic of the Congo, République Démocratique du Congo, République du Congo, Republic of Zaire, République du Zaire. Formerly: Indendent State of the Congo (1885-1908), Belgian Congo (1908-1960), Republic of the Congo (1960-1964), Democratic Republic of the Congo (1964-1971), Zaire (1971-1997). Has been Democratic Republic of the Congo since 1997.
SourceBritannica Academic (2019) and Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names

Show related catalogue records.

    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2024